THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesLatest imagesNull CityRegisterLog in

New Dark Eldar Player Asks for Help!

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
jwg20
Slave

New Dark Eldar Player Asks for Help!  Empty
PostSubject: New Dark Eldar Player Asks for Help!    New Dark Eldar Player Asks for Help!  I_icon_minitimeTue Aug 23 2011, 18:14

Hey all,

So I have been playing warhammer Fantasy on and off for 10 years (playing high elves and daemons). I recently decided I was going to branch into 40k. Looking around at the armies, I decided that Dark Elves fit my style. You see, I love speed in my armies, and from what I hear and have read, Dark Eldar are the fastest out there!

So, as to how you can help me: What is a good thing to start out with? I love themed lists, so I was thinking of a gladatorial games army, with beastmasters, witches, some jetbikes (though I hear jetbikes are poor?) and stuff like that. I was feeling getting a battalion box to start, and maybe a box or two of elites and fast support (and a tank of some form along with an HQ). I normally start out with armies by buying a lot at once and then adding on rather than buying slowly over time. Ideally, my first purchases would give me a workable army that I can add onto to get up to 2k-2.5k pts.

So what are your opinions of a good starting point that would also be useful at 2.5k?

Also of note, the top player at my local store is a daemonhunter. He has become so cocky during games that, rather than take a more friendly list to make it fair, he always gives his opponent an extra 250-500 pts over him and still tables them with his tourney army. I am a little sick of that cockiness, and would like to give him a burst of humility ASAP.

Thanks!
Back to top Go down
GAR
Dread Pirate
GAR