THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesLatest imagesNull CityRegisterLog in

Fortification worth it?

Go down 
+6
CptMetal
Korona
stilgar27
Seshiru
fisheyes
Causalis
10 posters
AuthorMessage
Causalis
Kabalite Warrior
Causalis

Fortification worth it? Empty
PostSubject: Fortification worth it?   Fortification worth it? I_icon_minitimeMon Nov 07 2016, 10:21

So, I've been to the Spiel 2016 (biggest boardgame convention of the world I've been told) and got myself a 4'x4' mat from Kraken Mats (I'm a student and I just don't have the space for a 6'x4' mat). I've got a buddy who regularly comes over to my place with his Orks and thus I prepare our gaming table etc. A few months ago I made some terrain myself but the colour doesn't fit so I'm starting to buy some stuff. Recently acquired some Promethium Pipelines. The Haemotrope Reactors will soon follow (I've got an Ad Mech army after all).

This brought the fortification-slot to my attention - a slot I almost never EVER see filled in any non-tournament armylist around here or anywhere else.

This got me thinking: Would an Imperial Bunker be useful for the Dark Kin? It can hold 20 models and gives us the hilarious capability to bring up to 6 tank traps (it doesn't specify which dimensions these must be so 1 tank trap could be 20" across if you want to be really cheesy), which are impassible terrain for every vehicle except skimmers (which are all our vehicles).

Yes, I know we are a "fast" army (there are other armies that are faster than us) and being stationary isn't really our thing. But we could plop some Ssylth/Medusae/Warriors/etc. in there (they would be safer than in any other of our vehicles). With an escape hatch the squad inside can also avoid CC if they want to and the bunker comes with 4 heavy bolters.

We could hide our Warlord inside or use it to make our special weapon guys more survivable.