THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesLatest imagesNull CityRegisterLog in

Painting Scheme Dark Elf style

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
Barragwin
Slave
Barragwin

Painting Scheme Dark Elf style Empty
PostSubject: Painting Scheme Dark Elf style   Painting Scheme Dark Elf style I_icon_minitimeSun Jan 08 2017, 10:25

Hey everyone,

I decided to start a new DE army and was searching for a colour scheme. I always wanted to do
something dark and if possible with purple, because I felt that the theme of purple mixed very well
with their "living between dimensions/void" theme.

After experimenting a little bit and achieving not so satisfying results I consulted big brother google for some more inspiration and found the artworks of dark elves from Heroes of Might & Magic 6.

Now I want to try out these, but as a total newbie in the tabletop/miniature painting universe I have no idea what colours to use and what kind of shades to apply. Also I am not that skilled with smooth blending, as I use brushes.

Anyone can help? Thanks in advance Smile
Back to top Go down
Squidmaster
Klaivex
Squidmaster

PostSubject: Re: Painting Scheme Dark Elf style   Painting Scheme Dark Elf style I_icon_minitimeSun Jan 08 2017, 10:55

I had to Google, so I assume you mean these guys:
https://mmh7.ubi.com/en/factions/dungeon/creatures/assassin

The main colour scheme there seems to be black and dark purple, with a tiny few red bits and highlights in bronze/gold.

If I quickly bring up this image of a Kabalite Warrior.....

Painting Scheme Dark Elf style Dark-eldar-kabalite-warrior-with-splinter-rifle

........I'll offer my advice.

I would statrt with a black undercoat.