THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesLatest imagesNull CityRegisterLog in

Picking Edge Highlight Colors

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Lord Asvaldir
Hekatrix
Lord Asvaldir

Picking Edge Highlight Colors Empty
PostSubject: Picking Edge Highlight Colors   Picking Edge Highlight Colors I_icon_minitimeWed Nov 15 2017, 19:47

My fellow kabalites, I'm just getting started on working out my color scheme for my kabalite and I'm stuck on what color to use for the edge highlights on my armor. The theme is going to be black armor, so abbadon black base, while the helmet is ushabti bone with some highlights. I've figured out the colors for the helmet, but I have no idea what to do for the black armor. My only thought is maybe a grey or purple, not sure which one though. Don't want anything too bright, want to stick to the dark armor theme.

Rest of the model will be a darkish flesh for the belt, leadbelcher/ironbreaker for the gun, brass/gold for details of the gun plus maybe the knee plates, and maybe a glowing red/blue for the gun barrel but I'm not sure about that yet, would need to figure out colors for that as well.

Thanks in advance.
Back to top Go down
masamune
Sybarite
masamune

PostSubject: Re: Picking Edge Highlight Colors   Picking Edge Highlight Colors I_icon_minitimeThu Nov 16 2017, 11:33

Hellow young warrior !

Choosing those colors is an important thing.

First of all

Do test.
Make a couple different miniatures, copy paste them on paint/toshop to get the overall look of a full unit.

Second

You need to think about contrast AND homogeneity.

Will it be a cold color armor or a warm one ?
Using different color can really change the black aspect (ex : blueish grey like dark reaper & fenrisian grey will do a cold black, as the opposite is using eshin grey and administratum grey).