THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesLatest imagesNull CityRegisterLog in

My experiments

Go down 
+2
masamune
WS0007
6 posters
AuthorMessage
WS0007
Hellion
WS0007

My experiments  Empty
PostSubject: My experiments    My experiments  I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 20 2018, 14:56

So this is my first try at a project log and I have always loved painting red, so I have decided on The Kabal of the Obsidian Rose. A few years ago I did my first large project of painting a red army of 1000s sons for 30k and I did them in a metallic red scheme which I would like to reproduce on my dark elder with some adjustments.
The way I did the paint job on my 1000s sons was to prime them black, then a base coat of gunmetal gray, then a high light of polished silver sprayed at a 45% degree angle. I then airbrushed a few coats of clear red and then a black and red wash and a few more coats of clear red.
For my dark elder I decided to try something a little different, I primed them with German Panzer grey and then did a dry brush of copper over the armor plates on the model. The model on the left I airbrushed with clear blue and the one on the right I airbrushed with red ink. One of the things I noticed was that the ridges on the armor really stood out and in person it almost appears to make the ridges glow. I think I am going to add a lighter dry brush of polished gold to the model  to see if I can make the ridges glow a little more and I will be posting those up when I do.

My experiments  Test110
My experiments  Test210
Back to top Go down
masamune
Sybarite
masamune

My experiments  Empty
PostSubject: Re: My experiments    My experiments  I_icon_minitimeSun Feb 25 2018, 21:30

Highlights are looking great overall, I think it'll look pretty nice in bunchs Wink

My experiments  19121d10 Dark eldars ~4k points / My experiments  4eef2c10 Battle sisters ~2k points
Back to top Go down