THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesLatest imagesNull CityRegisterLog in

My final storm

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
MongooseDog
Kabalite Warrior
MongooseDog

My final storm Empty
PostSubject: My final storm   My final storm I_icon_minitimeMon May 06 2013, 00:56

Well here is my submission for the writing contest. I am not a writer and the 350 was really hard to stay under. I hope you all enjoy this as it is my first attempt to write anything outside of school back in the day.

I wrote this as an excerpt from a collection of captured letters that document the DE raids on a human slave world.

My Final Storm

As I sit here watching the flashes, I can’t help but hate what is just over the horizon. Like clockwork it happens. The same time every lunar cycle the Great Circle awakens. Fear overtakes most of them and they flee but that only prolongs the conclusion.

The last hunt has taken the use of my left leg for the foreseeable future. I am no longer spry. Cunning will only get you so far in this deadly game. I cannot hide and could not help with the defenses. I am worthless and ashamed.

How could I assist, when I could barely manage to move under my own power. I have let down my fellow townsfolk and I fear that my inadequacies will keep me from ascension upon the termination of my life. What god would accept me now? This lack of action will no doubt bring my death.

As the rain beats down, I can no longer keep my composure. Everyone has gone, trying to survive. I can finally let go. Not since I was young, have I allowed tears to flow down my sun hardened face. The fear of death tears me apart inside but not as much as the fear that I will be eternally damned for my failure.