THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesLatest imagesNull CityRegisterLog in

Fluff wise: Rifle or SMG/Carbine?

Go down 
+7
Archon_91
Jimsolo
Lord Johan
Logan Frost
Squidmaster
Mppqlmd
FuelDrop
11 posters
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
FuelDrop
Hekatrix
FuelDrop

Fluff wise: Rifle or SMG/Carbine? Empty
PostSubject: Fluff wise: Rifle or SMG/Carbine?   Fluff wise: Rifle or SMG/Carbine? I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 23 2017, 13:31

I have been thinking.

from a purely fluff point of view... why are the Dark Eldar using longarms?

Dark Eldar learn to fight in Commorragh, a crowded city full of impossible geometry. On top of that, their favored prey (civilians) tend to also live in cities.

Now I'm no military expert, but it seems to me that the full sized rifles used by Kabalite Warriors and Trueborn are a bit bulky and awkward for room-to-room fighting, and cannot be easily handled with one hand while restraining a prisoner with the other.

Even moreso when one remembers how the True Kin prefer tight quarters and short range fighting to better experience first hand the agony they are causing, it causes me to wonder: Why is our primary weapon a rifle rather than a more compact assault weapon, such as an automatic carbine or a submachine gun?
Back to top Go down
Mppqlmd
Incubi
Mppqlmd

PostSubject: Re: Fluff wise: Rifle or SMG/Carbine?   Fluff wise: Rifle or SMG/Carbine? I_icon_minitimeWed Aug 23 2017, 13:49

Those attempts of answering your questions are of course purely hypothetical.
- First part of the question, the one concerning Commorragh :