THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesLatest imagesNull CityRegisterLog in

Newbie needs shopping/list building advice

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
Ashoka
Slave
Ashoka

Newbie needs shopping/list building advice Empty
PostSubject: Newbie needs shopping/list building advice   Newbie needs shopping/list building advice I_icon_minitimeWed Jun 27 2018, 10:49

Hi all,

this thread is not about a specific list but rather about possible list builds for Dark Eldar (I don't like the term Drukhari).

With that out of the way, here's some short explanation. I'm currently building my new Dark Eldar army, so far I have 10 Kablites, 2 Archons, 1 Venom, 1 Razorwing. As my resources in money and time to build/paint are sadly finite, I cannot buy an excess of everything and try everything out, until I get the right ideas. I have little gaming experience with WH40K (a few games with my Primaris Dark Angels, so far pretty poorly). At my local store we normally run 1,500 points, sometimes less, sometimes more, but games with over 2,000 points tend to be special events. At the moment I feel a little lost as to what I should buy next. I intend to run a shooty army, so Kabal. My intended core are 3 troops of Kabalites, but right here the problems start: 3 x 10 with 2 Blasters and SC in Raiders eat points up pretty fast, so I have less bodies/units to grab objectives, with 5-man troops in Venoms I have less firepower, especially against SM, Knights and the like.

So my question is: in which general direction could I go to get a playable army fast. My latest idea is battalion + air wing (I own a Razorwing and want to include it in my list). But that is even less units for objective-grabbing. What are good and advisable buys for a newcomer to Dark Eldar ? Stay with 3 x 10 Kabalites in Raiders (more points/$ compared to Venoms)? Get Ravagers and run only one flyer first?