amishprn86 Archon
Posts : 4436 Join date : 2014-10-04 Location : Ohio
| Subject: Re: Wave Serpent vs. Raider Fri Dec 08 2017, 11:48 | |
| - aurynn wrote:
- Okay. That never happened to me. Neither against Guiliman and friends, nor against shooty alphastrike CHSM, not against Renegade Knights and Magnus, rly never. I have seen other armies lose much more than I did. And losing 2 Voidweavers to all that shooting... that does not sound statistically right either. Not even with the new 3++ stratagem. But okay.
-1 to hit 4++ cant re-roll the 3+ to hit, thats literally 1/2 the damage (Tho i think its more like 47% less or something odd, just doing math in my head so rounding a bit), 2 Vehicles is 1/2 of 4. plus i'd rather use a CP on a 4++ than a 5++ to re-roll a save (granted i have on a 5++ many times before doesnt work as well is all). Yes its 8 less wounds, but for every large weapon that doesnt kill it, thats another one wasted, if i'm down to 1-2 wounds, he will over kill it with small arms due tot he fact that it is harder to kill and fear it wont die. Leaving me with more on the table, and many times my quins are left alive, i've never had a starweaver and all the quins die to shooting in 1 round before. | |
|
aurynn Incubi
Posts : 1626 Join date : 2013-04-23
| Subject: Re: Wave Serpent vs. Raider Fri Dec 08 2017, 12:22 | |
| Wait... he can reroll any failed hits and wounds. Why wouldn't he reroll those? EDIT: Assuming we are talking 'bout Guiliman and friends. | |
|
Burnage Incubi
Posts : 1505 Join date : 2017-09-12
| Subject: Re: Wave Serpent vs. Raider Fri Dec 08 2017, 12:33 | |
| - aurynn wrote:
- Wait... he can reroll any failed hits and wounds. Why wouldn't he reroll those?
EDIT: Assuming we are talking 'bout Guiliman and friends. It's the order of operations for rerolls and modifiers. You roll to hit, compare to your BS, reroll failures, and then apply modifiers. So if you're BS 3+ shooting at something with a -1 to hit, you can only reroll your 1s and 2s. It's counter-intuitive as hell but it also makes -1 to hit considerably stronger than it first appears. | |
|
aurynn Incubi
Posts : 1626 Join date : 2013-04-23
| Subject: Re: Wave Serpent vs. Raider Fri Dec 08 2017, 12:37 | |
| Oh yea. I understood it as if he can't reroll at all. | |
|
Aschen Sybarite
Posts : 266 Join date : 2013-01-06
| Subject: Re: Wave Serpent vs. Raider Sat Dec 09 2017, 08:49 | |
| - Burnage wrote:
- aurynn wrote:
- Wait... he can reroll any failed hits and wounds. Why wouldn't he reroll those?
EDIT: Assuming we are talking 'bout Guiliman and friends. It's the order of operations for rerolls and modifiers.
You roll to hit, compare to your BS, reroll failures, and then apply modifiers. So if you're BS 3+ shooting at something with a -1 to hit, you can only reroll your 1s and 2s.
It's counter-intuitive as hell but it also makes -1 to hit considerably stronger than it first appears. That sounds like a useful rule to know about! Where does it say things work this way so I can point it out to my friends? | |
|
amishprn86 Archon
Posts : 4436 Join date : 2014-10-04 Location : Ohio
| Subject: Re: Wave Serpent vs. Raider Sat Dec 09 2017, 09:11 | |
| The faq's and maybe now the CA | |
|
Burnage Incubi
Posts : 1505 Join date : 2017-09-12
| Subject: Re: Wave Serpent vs. Raider Sat Dec 09 2017, 12:15 | |
| - Aschen wrote:
- Burnage wrote:
- aurynn wrote:
- Wait... he can reroll any failed hits and wounds. Why wouldn't he reroll those?
EDIT: Assuming we are talking 'bout Guiliman and friends. It's the order of operations for rerolls and modifiers.
You roll to hit, compare to your BS, reroll failures, and then apply modifiers. So if you're BS 3+ shooting at something with a -1 to hit, you can only reroll your 1s and 2s.
It's counter-intuitive as hell but it also makes -1 to hit considerably stronger than it first appears. That sounds like a useful rule to know about! Where does it say things work this way so I can point it out to my friends? It's page 178 of the main rulebook, in the "Re-rolls" section at the side; "Some rules allow you to re-roll a dice roll, which means you get to roll some or all of the dice again. You can never re-roll a dice more than one, and re-rolls happen before modifiers (if any) are applied." | |
|
Sponsored content
| Subject: Re: Wave Serpent vs. Raider | |
| |
|