THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesLatest imagesNull CityRegisterLog in

Do you play 1000 point games with your DE.

Go down 
+4
The_Burning_Eye
Jimsolo
Mushkilla
egorey
8 posters
AuthorMessage
egorey
The Duck of Death
egorey

Do you play 1000 point games with your DE.  Empty
PostSubject: Do you play 1000 point games with your DE.    Do you play 1000 point games with your DE.  I_icon_minitimeMon Mar 16 2015, 15:17

When I started playing 40k back in the day (and I mean back in the day) it was almost a given that we played at 1000 - 1250 points. Now a days people complain when they are limited to only 1500 points. What transpired to alter the gaming landscape? Let me tell what the advantages of 1000 point games are first ...

1000 point games allow you to:

- Playing at 1000 points lets you familiarize yourself with a small amount of units. Usually we can only field 4 or 5 different units in 1000 points. This is great as it allows us to learn how those units work. I can compare venoms to splinter rack raiders - grots to incubi, see if I like a talos. Then I get to see how best to deploy these units and advance them up the table.

- A game is done in around an hour. An hour long game. Seriously, when was the last time you did that? That means you can get a few games in without stress in a afternoon or evening.

- If we are playing at 1000 points we get to try more missions, so we can get used to multiple missions without struggling through your rulebook for 3 hours playing a single game. I see what units are decent for relic. What units are good in maelstorm. What units excel at crusade. I also get to experiment more with deployment.