THE DARK CITY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeDark Eldar WikiDark Eldar ResourcesLatest imagesNull CityRegisterLog in

Tinted canopy and cutting into finecast

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Vollok Karnth
Slave
Vollok Karnth

Tinted canopy and cutting into finecast Empty
PostSubject: Tinted canopy and cutting into finecast   Tinted canopy and cutting into finecast I_icon_minitimeWed Jul 29 2015, 23:40

So I'm new to custom work and never really worked much with painting until recently and I'm looking for any advice you can give.

Yesterday I was looking at the canopy of my razorwing and venoms and started to think they were a little blah, I was wondering if there was a way to get a stained glass effect on them? My first thought was using the glazes or shades GW has since they're basically see through if there's no layers under them, but any alternatives are appreciated.

Last week my friends got me a gag gift of a tau battlesuit commander and two more battlesuits for bodyguards (why I have no idea) but last night I had the thought "Why not make them coven commanded?" and set about making what I'm calling Dark Eldar battlesuits. My plan is to add DE bits here and there, so far this is how it's come...
Tinted canopy and cutting into finecast F0EtvrHKj
Tinted canopy and cutting into finecast ExAHZOecj
Tinted canopy and cutting into finecast F07OD2Lij
The two hand pieces I plan on putting the bottom half of that pike on the other side of the hand and adding another sharp piece on the bottom to get the double ended look and the chain piece im planning on taking a longer length of chain and running it from the bottom of the hand into the slot on the arm usually used for mounting battlesuit weapons so it looks like there's more stored in the arm.